"YOU PEOPLE"

Got my OWN mic, stage, key, seat & door!

SOCCER MEGAN RAPINOE

on June 29, 2019

ALLOW ME TO START WITH SEVEN POWERFUL QUOTES:

“INJUSTICE ANYWHERE IS A THREAT TO JUSTICE EVERYWHERE” DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.

“I CHOOSE TO REFLECT THE TIMES AND SITUATIONS I FIND MYSELF. THAT TO ME IS MY DUTY AND AT THIS CRUCIAL TIME IN OUR LIVES WHEN EVERYTHING IS SO DESPERATE…… HOW CAN YOU BE AN ARTIST AND NOT REFLECT THE TIMES?” NINA SIMONE

“THUGLIFE THE HATE U GIVE LITTLE INFANTS FUCK EVERYONE” TUPAC

“YOU CAN’T BE WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE” MARIAM WRIGHT EDELMAN

‘THE E PLURIBUS UNUM; OUT OF MANY, ONE” AMERICA’S MOTTO

“DIVERSITY IS BEING ASKED TO THE PARTY, INCLUSION IS BEING INVITED TO DANCE.” VERNA MYERS

“I AM A DEFENDER, THE LAST PERSON YOU NEED TO GET THROUGH? THAT’S ME. THE PERSON WHO MAKES YOU OFFSIDE? THAT’S ME.  I AM THE LAST CHANCE TO STOP YOUR GOAL.  I DON’T GO DOWN WITHOUT A FIGHT.  ALL MY DEDICATION & HARD WORK HAS PREPARED ME FOR THIS MOMENT.  MY GOAL IS STOPPING YOURS.” MEGAN RAPINOE

 

I had to end with one powerful quote by this POWERHOUSE. I never heard of her until she used her privileged to bring visibility to what was known, legislated, permitted, understand, and acceptable in our country and that is police brutality. After my 15 minutes of going crazy over her, I forgot her until she REFUSED to sing the national anthem or put her hand over her heart in support of one of the most divisive, hate filled, racist, controlling, vicious leader of our lifetime; 45.

 

I really woke up to her when I was watching the news and they were reprimanded for lacking sportsmanship for being OVERLY excited that they won. Like, really? Is this NOT a time to celebrate wins or was it that her lifestyle that she is PROUD OF and is on a world stage AND SHOWING OUR YOUNG PEOPLE THAT THEY TOO CAN LOVE WHO THEY WANT AND BE WHO THEY WANT AND SUCCEED AT WHAT THEY DO simultaneously and that is a strength and boldness not ALL Americans have?

Our girls are in volleyball club called #sccvbc and they too were reprimanded for beating a team like 17 to 1 or something crazy like that and their EXUBERANCE made the girls “feel some kind of way” but we didn’t care.  This particular day, the girls couldn’t wait to tell me about and opposing coach who said something about their LOUD “celebratory” win dances and cheers…..smh

#USWNT

MAKE IT FREE AND ALL BLACK GIRLS WILL RULE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar